nVidia Go Series Drivers for Vista

I have been checking nVidia’s web site for some time looking for Vista drivers for my Toshiba laptop equipped with a GeForce Go 7900 GS video chipset. Every time I go there I see nothing listed for Vista. I decided to try and find out why when I surfed my way to this page with an FAQ. I did a search on GeForce Go and that brought me to a page with this:

Mobile GPU’s like the GeForce Go and Quadro Go family of mobile GPU’s use drivers that have been customized to support hot key functions, power management functions, lid close and suspend/resume behavior that are normally found in notebooks. The reference desktop graphic drivers that are provided by NVIDIA on our driver downloads page do not include these custom features. For this reason, the NVIDIA Forceware NVIDIA graphics display drivers will not install on most Geforce and Quadro family of mobile GPU’s.” And, “please visit the drivers page for your notebook manufacturer.

So, I have been looking in the wrong place. I headed over to Toshiba’s site and see they have the nVidia Display Driver for Windows Vista dated 6/19/07. That’s pretty recent.

I have mentioned before that I was waiting for nVidia to come up with proper Vista drivers for the Go 7-Series. I even said I was going to try Linux on my laptop when those drivers became available. If Linux did not work out I would try Vista again.

Now I don’t have an excuse. Well, yes I do. I have built a few Linux virtual machines to test several Linux distributions (distros). I have not yet decided which would be the one I would prefer.

But the main excuse is my home server. I am about to rebuild it with an old motherboard/CPU and a new hard drive and memory. I will need that server up and running to backup all my files so I can safely wipe my laptop’s hard drive. I am planning to build the server over the next few days.

Another issue may be my desktop. The transformer that provides power to our house was stuck by lightning Sunday and my desktop is dead as a door knob. We also lost our dishwasher to this catastrophe. I cannot afford to build a new desktop computer due to the dishwasher. I am going to try a minimum cost repair. I will pickup a power supply for the desktop. Hopefully that will be enough. If not I will leave the desktop to a later date to fix.

Stay tuned.

One Response to “nVidia Go Series Drivers for Vista”

  1. Tom Pedersen Says:

    Hi!
    I am having the same problem with my laptop! I can’t find any drivers for it. The latest driver from Toshiba is dates Jan-05, so needless to say, It’s not up to par.

    I have the same graphics card as you do (GeForce Go 7900 GS) in my Toshiba Satellite P105-S9339 notebook, but you found a much more recent driver! You probably have a different model than I do, but I still wanna try.

    I have called Toshiba several times, asking for a driver update, but of course, nothing happens. Can you please, PLEEEEASE, send me the link to where you found your driver?

    Thank you in advance!

    Tom Pedersen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

